Community Dialysis Units


Our community dialysis units enable us to offer specialty care closer to home.

Our Community Dialysis Units

Providence operates seven community dialysis units in Vancouver and the Coastal regions in partnership with the Vancouver Coastal Health Authority. These community dialysis units help patients receive hemodialysis service closer to home, minimizing travel time. Patients who are medically suitable for community hemodialysis are referred by the renal program at either St. Paul’s Hospital or Vancouver General Hospital.

Dialysis is a life-saving procedure for patients with kidney failure. It is performed to replace the kidneys’ failed function of filtering waste products and excess fluid from the blood. Dialysis is a temporary treatment for some, but when the loss of kidney function is permanent, dialysis is needed on a regular basis. The only other treatment for kidney failure is a kidney transplant.


Providence Health Care’s seven community dialysis units are located in North Vancouver, Powell River, Richmond, Sechelt, Squamish, Vancouver and East Vancouver.

  • Vancouver Community Dialysis Unit.
  • Sechelt Community Dialysis Unit.
  • Squamish Community Dialysis Unit.
  • North Shore Community Dialysis Unit.
  • Richmond Community Dialysis Unit.
  • qathet Community Dialysis Unit (Powell River).
  • East Vancouver Community Dialysis Unit.

For maps and addresses, please visit our Maps/Transit & Parking page.